University Award for Inclusive Excellence

Established in 2017 and awarded annually, Iowa State University's first-ever university-level inclusion award recognizes faculty and staff who have advanced the university’s mission of diversity, equity, and inclusion without having been compensated for their efforts.

Nomination guidelines and materials can be found at the University Award website.



2021 - Elaine Phompheng and Valentina Salotti

2020 - Monic Behnken and Harrison Inefuku

2019 - Angela Shaw and Barbara Woods

2018 - Joel Hochstein and Daniel Spikes

2017 - Tera Jordan and Audrey Kennis



Congratulations (Inside Iowa State, 09/28/17)

Inclusive award debuts at university ceremony (Inside Update, 09/21/17)

Inclusive excellence award added to fall ceremony (Inside Update, 12/08/16)