Chinese Faculty and Staff Association


Welcome to the Chinese Faculty and Staff Association (CFSA) website! Our goal is to build a community to support the personal and professional development of Chinese faculty and staff, and to increase the visibility and awareness of Asian American heritage, history, and culture throughout campus and in the larger Ames community. 

CFSA membership is open to all faculty and staff at Iowa State University, regardless of race, religion, age, marital status, national origin, disability, or sexual orientation. While the majority of our members have Chinese ancestry, all faculty and staff are welcome and encouraged to participate.

Getting Involved

To join us, please email with your full name and department. You will be added to our email list, which will be used to distribute important information such as regular meetings, upcoming events, and major initiatives.  

Upcoming Events

We have invited Dr. Madeline Y. Hsu, Professor of History at the University of Texas at Austin, to give the Iowa State Lecture “From Yellow Peril to Model Minority and Back Again: Immigration and Sino-US Foreign Relations” on Nov. 16, 2021 at 6:00pm. This is an in person event, and will be held at Great Hall, Memorial Union.

Dr. Hsu served as Director of the Center for Asian American Studies for eight years (2006-2014).  She was president of the Immigration and Ethnic History Society and is presently representative-at-large for the International Society for the Study of Chinese Overseas, and the author of award winning book “The Good Immigrants:  How the Yellow Peril Became a Model Minority”. 

More info is available at

Past Events

Chinese Faculty and Staff Association (CFSA) social gathering event at Moore Memorial Park, Big Bluestem Shelter on Sunday 3:00pm-5:00pm 6/13/2021
Confirmation required: Please sign up before 6/8. Sign up!

Past Events

We have invited Dr. Lisa K. Son, Professor of Psychology at Barnard College, Columbia University to give the Iowa State Lecture “The Costs of Activism: A Dilemma for the Individual Asian American” on April 22 at 5:00pm. Dr. Son has been very active in the recent movement against anti-Asian racism, contributing at rallies, on radio, and in various opinion pieces.

More info is available at

Chinese Association of Iowa, Iowa City Area Chinese Association, and ISU Chinese Faculty and Staff Association will hold a joint Chinese community online meeting to discuss the hot topics of the Chinese community. Professor Shang Chen from University of Iowa, Sergeant  Doua Lor and Senior Police Officer Bill Lu from Des Moines Police Department, and Causey & Ye Law Lead Counsel Yangyidi Ye will give addresses on discrimination against Asian during the pandemic, police community service and protection, and legal options to protect the rights of Chinese Americans. This event is open to all.

Time: April 3, 2021 4:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)


Advisory Committee
The Advisory Committee advises and assists the leadership team of CFSA on all issues relevant to the operation and development of the organization.
Co-chairs: Li-Shan ChouHailiang Liu, Kan Wang, Yanhai Yin, Qijing Zhang, Dan Zhu, Jianming Yu  

Communications Committee
The Communications Committee works to disseminate information about programs, events, and opportunities to the CFSA members through an email newsletter, social media, and the CFSA website. 
Co-chairs: Hongwei Zhang, Yuyu Zhou 

Welcome Committee
The Welcome Committee focuses on reaching out to newly hired employees to help them transition to Iowa State and the Ames community. We facilitate networking with colleagues and connect new hires with university and community resources. 
Co-chairs: Guiping Hu, Chunhui Xiang, Xiaoshuang Wei

Events and Social Networking Committee
The Events and Social Networking Committee coordinates efforts to plan and organize annual social events and special events.  
Co-chairs: Chunhui Chen, Hui Feng, Shan Jiang, Hantang Qin

Rules Committee
The Rules Committee is responsible for drafting the by-laws. 
Co-chairs: Zengyi Shao, Wang Tao

IT Support Committee
The IT Support Committee provides IT technical support for the association.
Co-chairs: Liang Gong, Xuefeng Zhao


Huifang Mao
Professor, Marketing
Zhengyuan Zhu
Director of the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology and Professor, Statistics